Aon vs Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance: Commercial Crime Insurance

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance includes Commercial Crime in a private-company portfolio whose target accounts include firms with at least $10 million in revenue, with limits up to $50 million; Aon helps arrange or advise on crime for law, accounting and consulting firms.

Van Ness Partners presents a practical comparison of source materials relevant to financial crime exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance bundles Commercial Crime in Executive First and publishes shared or separate limits up to $50 million; Aon lists broker-arranged crime for professional-services firms.

Sources consulted

  1. 01
    Professional Services Practice

    Aon · Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Executive First Private Company Portfolio

    Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance · Product Highlights, lines 11–15: D&O, EPL, fiduciary, Commercial Crime and Employed Lawyers in one comprehensive form; shared or separate limits up to $50 million; EPL First HR resources and attorney helpline. Top Targets, lines 16–25: private companies with at least $10 million revenue and listed industries. Reopened 2026-09-30. · accessed 2026-09-30

  3. 03
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Crime · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Social Engineering Fraud Insurance

    Chubb · Opening; coverage highlights · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Crime Terms and Conditions

    The Travelers Companies, Inc. · I.A–G, printed/PDF pages 1–4; III.RR, printed/PDF p.13; V.B.1–2, printed/PDF pp.18–20; Consideration, printed/PDF p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; I.A.3 p.1; III.C p.7; III.S pp.8–9; III.II and III.KK p.12; III.QQ p.13; V.A.5 pp.17–18 (printed/PDF pages); IV.J–O, printed/PDF pages 14–15 · accessed 2026-09-16

  6. 06
    Crime Non-Financial Applications and Forms

    Travelers · Opening paragraph; Sample Policy Forms · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Commercial Crime Coverage Application

    Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America · I–III pages 1–2; IX–XI pages 3–4; V–VII, printed/PDF pages 2–3 · accessed 2026-09-16

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Crime Insurance?

Standalone Placement or Portfolio Component

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance includes Commercial Crime within its Executive First Private Company Portfolio, which combines D&O, employment practices, fiduciary, crime, and employed-lawyer coverage. Aon lists Crime as a line its professional-services practice arranges. Ask Aon whether it can place a standalone crime policy and ask BHSI how the portfolio components are selected. [2] [1]

Revenue and Limit Scope

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance targets private companies with at least $10 million in revenue and advertises shared or separate portfolio limits up to $50 million. Aon does not publish revenue thresholds or crime limits in its reviewed record. Ask BHSI how much of the shared limit can apply to crime and ask Aon for its carrier and available limits. [2] [1]

Crime Coverage Detail

BHSI names Commercial Crime as a portfolio component but its reviewed claim does not detail covered losses. Aon also lists crime without describing covered acts or policy conditions. Neither record settles whether employee theft, client crime, or social engineering fits your exposure; request both forms and schedules. [2] [1]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance Crime Insurance Quotes?

  • How does BHSI allocate the shared or separate limit to crime, and which revenue test applies?
  • Which crime agreements, insurer, and limits will Aon arrange for your firm?

Crime coverage

Aon

  • role: Aon presents Crime as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon lists Crime as a coverage area within its professional-services practice. The page does not describe covered dishonest acts, insured property, policy conditions or bond forms. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Berkshire Hathaway Specialty Insurance

  • role: BHSI describes Executive First Private Company Portfolio as one comprehensive form combining D&O, EPL, fiduciary, Commercial Crime and employed-lawyer insurance. Portfolio marketing establishes a listed product structure, not a buyer’s entitlement or standalone availability.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: BHSI identifies private companies with at least $10 million in revenue among the portfolio’s target accounts. Portfolio-level target, not a guarantee that a particular applicant qualifies for the crime component.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: The portfolio page advertises shared or separate limits up to $50 million. This is a portfolio-wide figure, not a crime-specific limit; the page does not say how limits would be allocated on a specific policy.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The portfolio page specifically names Commercial Crime as one component of the comprehensive form. The page names the line but does not state its insuring agreements, coverage triggers or relationship to fidelity bonds.company-reportedSource ↗

Contact Van Ness Partners to discuss controls, exposures and insurance options.

Contact Van Ness Partners