Aon vs Corgi: Commercial Crime Insurance

Corgi sells Crime & Fidelity as a standalone policy aimed mainly at fintechs, payroll companies and marketplaces, with online quotes in under 10 minutes and an illustrative $1,000,000 limit; Aon helps arrange or advise on crime for law, accounting and consulting firms.

Van Ness Partners presents a practical comparison of source materials relevant to financial crime exposures.Research updated 2026-09-30

What Are the Key Differences Between Aon and Corgi Crime Insurance?

Standalone Policy and Buyer Fit

Corgi sells Crime & Fidelity as a standalone startup policy focused on fintechs, payroll companies, and marketplaces moving customer funds. Aon lists Crime within its professional-services practice for law, accounting, and consulting firms. The documented audiences differ; confirm whether your business fits either placement before comparing terms. [4] [1]

Limit and Social-Engineering Condition

Corgi's illustrative policy shows a $1 million per-occurrence and aggregate limit with a $10,000 retention; social engineering is commonly sublimited to $250,000 and requires documented out-of-band verification for vendor wire changes. Aon publishes no crime limit in its reviewed record, so request its proposed limit and control conditions. [4] [1]

Online Quote and Issuing Insurer

Corgi offers online instant quotes in under 10 minutes and says it can issue a binder the same day, though its product page does not identify the insurer for a specific policy. Aon describes broker-arranged placement but does not name its carrier or timing. Confirm the issuing company and effective date for either quote. [4] [1]

What Should You Confirm in Aon and Corgi Crime Insurance Quotes?

  • For Corgi, what carrier will issue the policy and what proof satisfies out-of-band wire verification?
  • For Aon, which insurer, social-engineering terms, limit, and binding timeline can be offered?

Crime coverage

Aon

  • role: Aon presents Crime as a line its Professional Services Practice helps arrange or advise on for professional-service firms. Aon is describing a global brokerage and advisory service, not issuing the underlying policy. The producing legal entity and carrier for any particular placement are not named on this page. Aon’s global professional-services practice page. This establishes a marketed brokerage/advisory offering, not policy issuance or account-specific placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Aon identifies law, accounting and consulting firms as the audience for its global Professional Services Practice. That audience scope does not establish eligibility for every firm or other business. Audience described for Aon’s global professional-services practice. It does not establish U.S. state availability or underwriting eligibility for a placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Aon lists Crime as a coverage area within its professional-services practice. The page does not describe covered dishonest acts, insured property, policy conditions or bond forms. Aon’s marketing description of the brokerage/coverage area. The page is not the insurer’s policy form and does not establish an insured's entitlement to coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Aon says its professional-services advisors use industry knowledge, insights, data and tools to support risk-management and human-capital decisions. This is a company-described advisory service, not a claim outcome or policy benefit. Company-reported advisory services on Aon’s global practice page; account-specific service scope is not stated.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed practice page does not name the insurer or producing legal entity for a specific placement. Ask for both on the quote and binder. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no state-specific placement schedule or buyer quote was reviewed. This does not establish that Aon cannot arrange a placement.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The reviewed page does not state a buyer-specific limit, retention, deductible or other placement terms. Confirm these in the quote, bond or issued policy. Aon’s global practice page as reviewed 2026-09-30; no quote, bond form or issued policy was reviewed.not-disclosedSource ↗

Corgi

  • role: Corgi sells Crime & Fidelity as a standalone startup policy, describing it as first-party coverage that pays the company back when money (not data) is stolen through employee theft, social engineering, computer fraud, forgery or funds-transfer fraud. Product page for form CORG-CRM-0100, last reviewed by Corgi on April 24, 2026 per the page itself.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The standard policy bundles four insuring agreements: employee dishonesty, social engineering fraud (business email compromise), computer fraud, and funds transfer fraud, plus forgery and alteration of checks or drafts. Coverage summary for form CORG-CRM-0100; the illustrated scenarios are examples, not a guarantee of coverage for a specific claim, and the issued policy controls.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Social engineering fraud (business email compromise) is commonly sublimited to $250,000 against the $1 million policy aggregate, and Corgi conditions the sublimit on documented out-of-band verification controls for changes to vendor wire instructions. Product-page scenario notes and FAQ; the exact sublimit and required controls are underwriting-dependent and confirmed on the declarations page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Corgi's Crime & Fidelity policy is written on a discovery basis, meaning coverage attaches when a loss is discovered during the policy period regardless of when the underlying dishonest act occurred, and it offers an optional discovery period of up to one year after termination to report a loss. Product-page glossary and FAQ description of form CORG-CRM-0100.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: Corgi's illustrative Crime & Fidelity structure shows a $1,000,000 per-occurrence and aggregate limit across its insuring agreements, with a $10,000 self-insured retention per occurrence. Illustrative policy structure on the product page ('Anatomy of a $1M / $1M / $10K Crime & Fidelity Policy'); actual limits and retentions appear on the declarations and Corgi says standard limits scale with payment volume for growth-stage and at-scale companies.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: Corgi's disclaimers say coverage may be underwritten through affiliated or partner carriers, including Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. (an admitted carrier) or Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc.; the crime product page itself does not name which entity underwrites a given Crime & Fidelity policy. General carrier-financial-strength disclosure that applies across Corgi's product lines, not a crime-specific underwriter statement; your policy names the actual insurer.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Corgi says it can issue Crime & Fidelity coverage and a binder the same day, and offers instant quotes in under 10 minutes through its online application. FAQ marketing claims on the product page; quote and bind speed are not independently verified.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Corgi positions Crime & Fidelity primarily for fintechs, payroll companies and marketplaces that move customer funds, noting it is frequently required by sponsor banks and Banking-as-a-Service (BaaS) partners before a fintech can go live. Industry-applicability section of the product page; other startups can also buy the policy, and eligibility for any given business depends on underwriting.company-reportedSource ↗

Corgi describes a standalone startup crime policy with a $250,000 social-engineering sublimit and $10,000 retention; Aon lists broker-arranged crime without published limits.

Sources consulted

  1. 01
    Professional Services Practice

    Aon · Named professional-services audiences and global advisory role, lines 125–128; line offerings and explanations lines 131–190; contact link lines 120–122. Global practice page; no U.S. state or account-specific placement schedule. · accessed 2026-09-30

  2. 02
    Commercial Insurance Guide

    California Department of Insurance · Crime · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Social Engineering Fraud Insurance

    Chubb · Opening; coverage highlights · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Crime & Fidelity Insurance for Startups

    Corgi Insurance · What's Actually Inside Your Crime & Fidelity Policy (form CORG-CRM-0100); Anatomy of a $1M/$1M/$10K policy; Scenario notes; Industry Applicability & Compliance; FAQ · accessed 2026-09-23

  5. 05
    Disclaimers

    Corgi Insurance · Carrier Financial Strength: 'Coverage may be underwritten through affiliated or partner carriers, including Corgi Insurance Company, Inc. ... Certain coverages may also be underwritten by Technology Risk Retention Group, Inc.' · accessed 2026-09-23

  6. 06
    Crime Terms and Conditions

    The Travelers Companies, Inc. · I.A–G, printed/PDF pages 1–4; III.RR, printed/PDF p.13; V.B.1–2, printed/PDF pp.18–20; Consideration, printed/PDF p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; I.A.3 p.1; III.C p.7; III.S pp.8–9; III.II and III.KK p.12; III.QQ p.13; V.A.5 pp.17–18 (printed/PDF pages); IV.J–O, printed/PDF pages 14–15 · accessed 2026-09-16

  7. 07
    Crime Non-Financial Applications and Forms

    Travelers · Opening paragraph; Sample Policy Forms · accessed 2026-09-16

  8. 08
    Commercial Crime Coverage Application

    Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America · I–III pages 1–2; IX–XI pages 3–4; V–VII, printed/PDF pages 2–3 · accessed 2026-09-16

Contact Van Ness Partners to discuss controls, exposures and insurance options.

Contact Van Ness Partners