Beazley vs Hub International: Fidelity Bonds

Beazley insures Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions and provides dedicated application forms. HUB International places crime and fidelity bonds through its ProEx practice and directs prospects to a specialist.

Van Ness Partners presents a practical comparison of source materials relevant to financial crime exposures.Research updated 2026-09-25

What Are the Key Differences Between Beazley and HUB International Fidelity Bonds?

Named Institution Bond Versus Two ProEx Catalogue Lines

Beazley underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions and keeps that product separate from Commercial Crime. HUB’s ProEx practice lists Crime/Fidelity under executive liability and Financial Institution Bonds as a separate financial-institutions offering, and places those covers rather than issuing them. You buy Beazley’s own bond; you hire HUB to shop Crime/Fidelity or a financial institution bond. Choose Beazley if you are a financial institution that wants a named high-limit bond from the writer; choose HUB if you need a specialist to place Crime/Fidelity or a financial institution bond. [1] [2]

Cover Menu and $25 Million Versus Catalogue Labels Only

Beazley describes employee theft plus forgery, in-transit loss, computer fraud, client-property loss, credit-card fraud and related expenses, and advertises limits up to US $25,000,000. HUB’s ProEx page names the two catalogue entries and stops there: it does not describe insuring agreements, dishonest-act scenarios or exclusions, and it does not publish bond penalties. HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with carriers it calls top-rated, without naming them for this line. [1] [2]

FI Bond Forms Versus a Specialist Desk

Beazley lists dedicated FI Bond Forms 14, 15, 24 and 25 and does not describe an online bind. HUB directs you to contact a ProEx specialist, and says that team provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services under a named practice leader. Beazley’s path is a bond application form; HUB’s path is a conversation with a placement desk. [1] [2]

What Should You Confirm in Beazley and HUB International Fidelity Bonds Quotes?

  • Ask Beazley which FI form applies and whether the $25 million headline is your maximum. [1]
  • Ask HUB whether the quote is Crime/Fidelity, a Financial Institution Bond, or both, and which carrier writes it. [2]
  • Get specimen wording from HUB; the ProEx list does not include insuring agreements. [2]
  • Confirm whether Beazley’s Commercial Crime fraudulent-instruction wording applies to the fidelity bond. [1]

Beazley underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds for institutions, with advertised limits up to $25 million and dedicated FI application forms. HUB places Crime/Fidelity and Financial Institution Bonds through ProEx specialists and does not publish bond wording or penalties.

Sources consulted

  1. 01
    Crime and Fidelity

    Beazley · What we offer: Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions; Limits up to US $25,000,000; How can we help; Tools & Resources FI Bond application forms · accessed 2026-09-23

  2. 02
    HUB ProEx

    HUB International · ProEx Coverages list including Crime / Fidelity under Executive Liability and Financial Institution Bonds under Financial Institutions; Claims & Legal Support section; ProEx premium volume statement · accessed 2026-09-23

  3. 03
    Glossary of Insurance Terms

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Fidelity; Surety Bond · accessed 2026-09-16

  4. 04
    Crime Terms and Conditions

    Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America · I.A.1–3 p.1; III.S pp.8–9; V.B.1–2 pp.18–20; CRI consideration p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; IV.L p.15 · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements

    U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration · Q1–Q3 pp.2–3; Q2 pp.2–3 · accessed 2026-09-16

Crime coverage

Beazley

  • role: Beazley underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds, which it markets specifically to financial institutions, as a separate line from the Commercial Crime product it sells to ordinary commercial companies on the same page. Crime and Fidelity product page; "fidelity bonds" is the name the page uses for the financial-institution version of this crime coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Beazley says its expert team underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions. The page does not name which types of financial institution (e.g., banks, credit unions, broker-dealers) qualify. Product-page target-customer statement; no institution-type list or asset-size threshold is published.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Beazley describes fidelity bonds as protecting a financial institution from loss of money and securities caused by employee theft, plus third-party-related losses such as forgery or alteration, on-premises and in-transit loss, money-order and counterfeit-currency fraud, computer fraud, client-property loss, credit-card fraud and related expenses. Product page's general description of crime/fidelity coverage; the page does not itemize a separate insuring-agreement list for fidelity bonds versus Commercial Crime.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The reviewed page attributes its fraudulent-instruction (social-engineering) insuring agreement and out-of-band-authentication condition to "our Commercial Crime policy" specifically. It does not state that Financial Fidelity Bonds include this same insuring agreement. Checked against the full product page text as of 2026-09-23; absence of a fidelity-bond-specific statement is not evidence the coverage is unavailable to financial institutions.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The product page advertises limits of up to US $25,000,000 for this line without separately breaking out a fidelity-bond-specific maximum from the Commercial Crime figure on the same page. Shared headline limit figure; retentions and bond-specific sub-limits are not published.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Beazley lists dedicated Financial Institution bond application forms in its Tools & Resources: FI Bond Form 14, Form 15, Form 24 and Form 25, separate from the Commercial Crime application forms on the same page. Tools & Resources section of the product page; the page does not describe an online quote or self-service purchase flow.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Beazley says its underwriting and claims professionals for this product family work side by side so that the original underwriting intent is respected when a claim arises. Company-stated internal process description applying to the Crime and Fidelity product family generally; no fidelity-bond-specific service is separately described.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: The product page links to Beazley's general claim-notification channel for this line. It does not disclose a claims response-time commitment or a dedicated claims process specific to Financial Fidelity Bonds. Product page "Notify a Claim" link as read on 2026-09-23; response times were not found.not-disclosedSource ↗

HUB International

  • role: HUB places crime and fidelity bond coverage, including financial institution bonds, through its ProEx Professional & Executive Risk practice alongside other executive-liability and financial-institution lines, rather than underwriting these bonds itself. ProEx page coverage list, read 2026-09-23. The page does not name an issuing insurer for Crime/Fidelity or Financial Institution Bonds.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: HUB's ProEx coverage list names "Crime / Fidelity" as an Executive Liability offering and "Financial Institution Bonds" as a separate Financial Institutions offering, but the page gives no further description of insuring agreements, covered dishonest-act scenarios or exclusions for either. ProEx page coverage list only; these are catalogue entries, not policy-form descriptions.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: No size, industry or state eligibility criteria specific to fidelity bonds or financial institution bonds were found on the ProEx page. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23; these coverages are listed among many others without their own eligibility description.not-foundSource ↗
  • insurer: No insurer is named for Crime/Fidelity or Financial Institution Bonds on the ProEx page; HUB says ProEx places over $2 billion in premium with carriers it calls top-rated, without naming them. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: Published bond penalty amounts, limits or retentions were not found on the ProEx page. Checked the ProEx page on 2026-09-23; bond amounts are set on the quote and declarations.not-disclosedSource ↗
  • services: HUB says its ProEx team, which lists Crime/Fidelity and Financial Institution Bonds among its coverages, provides analytics, litigation support and risk-management services to clients of all sizes under a named ProEx practice leader. ProEx page team and services description; not specific to a single bond placement.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: HUB directs prospects for these coverages to contact a ProEx specialist rather than an online quote or bind flow. ProEx page call to action.company-reportedSource ↗

Contact Van Ness Partners to discuss controls, exposures and insurance options.

Contact Van Ness Partners