Beazley vs Techinsurance: Fidelity Bonds

Beazley insures Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions and describes employee-theft coverage. TechInsurance arranges fidelity bonds online and describes coverage options.

Van Ness Partners presents a practical comparison of source materials relevant to financial crime exposures.Research updated 2026-09-25

Beazley is the writer on a named institution fidelity bond with advertised limits up to $25 million and no public online bind. TechInsurance compares first-party, third-party, janitorial and ERISA forms through a short online application.

What Are the Key Differences Between Beazley and TechInsurance Fidelity Bonds?

Institution Writer Versus Online Bond Types

You buy Beazley’s Financial Fidelity Bonds from the writer, aimed at financial institutions, using dedicated FI application forms rather than a website checkout. TechInsurance arranges several named variants—first-party, third-party, employee-dishonesty, business-service, janitorial and ERISA—and takes a short online application. Choose Beazley if you are a financial institution that needs the writer’s FI bond; choose TechInsurance if you need to compare named bond forms and apply online. [1] [3]

Institution Crime List Versus First-Party and Third-Party Split

Beazley describes protection from loss of money and securities caused by employee theft, plus third-party-related losses such as forgery, on-premises and in-transit loss, computer fraud, client-property loss, credit-card fraud and related expenses. TechInsurance says fidelity bonds cover employee fraud, theft, forgery and embezzlement against the business or its clients, and distinguishes first-party bonds that protect the business from third-party bonds that protect clients. Beazley’s list is institution operations; TechInsurance’s list is which party the bond is meant to protect. [1] [3]

FI Forms and Headline Limit Versus Cost Drivers

Beazley lists FI Bond Form 14, Form 15, Form 24 and Form 25 and advertises the shared US $25,000,000 headline without publishing retentions. TechInsurance does not name a surety for a standard bond, says an ERISA fidelity bond must come from a Treasury-authorized surety, and lists cost drivers of bond amount, type, industry risk, number of employees with sensitive-data access, and credit score. TechInsurance also names example buyers such as web hosting, cleaning, healthcare and security-guard firms. [1] [3]

What Should You Confirm in Beazley and TechInsurance Fidelity Bonds Quotes?

  • Ask Beazley which FI form applies and whether the advertised US $25 million figure is a shared Crime and Fidelity headline or the limit on your bond. [1]
  • Ask TechInsurance whether the quote is first-party, third-party, janitorial or ERISA, and which surety issues it. [3]
  • If the TechInsurance quote is an ERISA bond, confirm the surety is authorized by the U.S. Department of the Treasury. [3]
  • Get written bond amounts from both. Beazley does not publish retentions; TechInsurance says cost typically follows the total bond amount. [1] [3]

Crime coverage

Beazley

  • role: Beazley underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds, which it markets specifically to financial institutions, as a separate line from the Commercial Crime product it sells to ordinary commercial companies on the same page. Crime and Fidelity product page; "fidelity bonds" is the name the page uses for the financial-institution version of this crime coverage.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: Beazley says its expert team underwrites Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions. The page does not name which types of financial institution (e.g., banks, credit unions, broker-dealers) qualify. Product-page target-customer statement; no institution-type list or asset-size threshold is published.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: Beazley describes fidelity bonds as protecting a financial institution from loss of money and securities caused by employee theft, plus third-party-related losses such as forgery or alteration, on-premises and in-transit loss, money-order and counterfeit-currency fraud, computer fraud, client-property loss, credit-card fraud and related expenses. Product page's general description of crime/fidelity coverage; the page does not itemize a separate insuring-agreement list for fidelity bonds versus Commercial Crime.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: The reviewed page attributes its fraudulent-instruction (social-engineering) insuring agreement and out-of-band-authentication condition to "our Commercial Crime policy" specifically. It does not state that Financial Fidelity Bonds include this same insuring agreement. Checked against the full product page text as of 2026-09-23; absence of a fidelity-bond-specific statement is not evidence the coverage is unavailable to financial institutions.not-foundSource ↗
  • limits: The product page advertises limits of up to US $25,000,000 for this line without separately breaking out a fidelity-bond-specific maximum from the Commercial Crime figure on the same page. Shared headline limit figure; retentions and bond-specific sub-limits are not published.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: Beazley lists dedicated Financial Institution bond application forms in its Tools & Resources: FI Bond Form 14, Form 15, Form 24 and Form 25, separate from the Commercial Crime application forms on the same page. Tools & Resources section of the product page; the page does not describe an online quote or self-service purchase flow.company-reportedSource ↗
  • services: Beazley says its underwriting and claims professionals for this product family work side by side so that the original underwriting intent is respected when a claim arises. Company-stated internal process description applying to the Crime and Fidelity product family generally; no fidelity-bond-specific service is separately described.company-reportedSource ↗
  • claims: The product page links to Beazley's general claim-notification channel for this line. It does not disclose a claims response-time commitment or a dedicated claims process specific to Financial Fidelity Bonds. Product page "Notify a Claim" link as read on 2026-09-23; response times were not found.not-disclosedSource ↗

TechInsurance

  • role: TechInsurance arranges fidelity bonds, describing them as a type of commercial crime insurance and a type of surety bond, distinct from a traditional insurance policy in that the bonding company can seek repayment from the employee responsible for a dishonest act. Fidelity bonds product page.company-reportedSource ↗
  • insurer: The reviewed page does not name a specific surety or insurer for a standard fidelity bond, though it says an ERISA fidelity bond specifically must be purchased from a surety company authorized by the U.S. Department of the Treasury. Fidelity bonds product page as read on 2026-09-23.company-reportedSource ↗
  • coverage: TechInsurance says fidelity bonds cover employee fraud, theft, forgery and embezzlement against the business or its clients, and distinguishes first-party bonds (protecting the business itself) from third-party bonds (protecting clients), plus employee dishonesty, business service, janitorial and ERISA bond variants. Fidelity bonds product page; general policy description, not a specific bond form.company-reportedSource ↗
  • eligibility: TechInsurance targets fidelity bonds at businesses whose employees handle sensitive financial information or access client property unsupervised, naming web hosting, project management, cleaning, healthcare and security-guard companies as example segments. Fidelity bonds product page, Who should get fidelity bonds? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • limits: TechInsurance says fidelity bond costs vary widely and are typically calculated based on the total bond amount, with underwriting factors including bond type and size, industry risk, number of employees with sensitive-data access, and credit score; it does not publish a median premium for this line as it does for some other policies. Fidelity bonds product page, How much do fidelity bonds cost? section.company-reportedSource ↗
  • application: You request fidelity bond quotes online through a short application; TechInsurance says its licensed agents can help add fidelity bonds to a broader coverage package. Fidelity bonds product page.company-reportedSource ↗

Sources consulted

  1. 01
    Crime and Fidelity

    Beazley · What we offer: Financial Fidelity Bonds for financial institutions; Limits up to US $25,000,000; How can we help; Tools & Resources FI Bond application forms · accessed 2026-09-23

  2. 02
    Glossary of Insurance Terms

    National Association of Insurance Commissioners · Fidelity; Surety Bond · accessed 2026-09-16

  3. 03
    Fidelity Bonds – Quotes Online

    TechInsurance · What do fidelity bonds cover? (fraud, theft, forgery, embezzlement, employee benefits theft/ERISA); What is the difference between first-party and third-party fidelity bonds?; What are the different kinds of fidelity bonds?; How much do fidelity bonds cost?; What is the difference between commercial crime insurance and a fidelity bond? · accessed 2026-09-23

  4. 04
    Crime Terms and Conditions

    Travelers Casualty and Surety Company of America · I.A.1–3 p.1; III.S pp.8–9; V.B.1–2 pp.18–20; CRI consideration p.1; III.P p.8; V.A.3 pp.16–17; V.A.4 p.17; V.B.3 p.20; IV.L p.15 · accessed 2026-09-16

  5. 05
    Field Assistance Bulletin No. 2008-04: Guidance Regarding ERISA Fidelity Bonding Requirements

    U.S. Department of Labor, Employee Benefits Security Administration · Q1–Q3 pp.2–3; Q2 pp.2–3 · accessed 2026-09-16

Contact Van Ness Partners to discuss controls, exposures and insurance options.

Contact Van Ness Partners